Too many assessments for what !!!! Part 3 LOL

So if you haven’t already please read my other blogs part 1 & 2 first or this just might not make much sense  https://swanarchie07.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/too-many-assessments-for-what-all-the-crap-that-is-thrown-at-you/  part 1

https://swanarchie07.wordpress.com/2012/08/28/too-many-assessments-for-what-all-the-crap-that-is-thrown-at-you-part-2/  part 2

This seems to be a habit now and its gone on far too long and to tell you the truth I am fairly fed up now, 22 months and we are still at the same stage.

So whats happen since I last wrote, yes you guessed it we have had more meetings. Eventually I have found the strength to request a statement of reasonings and the policy they have used to come to their conclusion of  not allowing me to use my son’s personal budget for an overnight break. They sent me a copy of the  DISABLED CHILDREN NEEDS, ASSESSMENT MATRIX  & ALLOCATION OF RESOURCES not what I asked for but a very useful piece of paperwork to have because not only is half of the information in it wrong it actually says I could have over nights, so now I am confused to why they have wasted my time, energy, hours, and not to mention money for the last 22 months saying I don’t qualify.

On Friday 14th December  I wrote to the complaints department and logged my complaint officially yes even though my local councillors took the complaint on my behalf (or so I thought and so did they) that this was also classed as official but apparently not, so I now had to start the process all over again. I am a parent that can navigate the systems fairly well and prepared to learn as I go along and stick up for what I believe is my sons rights and even I am finding that the system is a mined field and so wrong.

This is now down to principles and what is right and wrong not about me getting an overnight break now and again. I will finish what I started out to do because I know my LA have treated me badly and I am not going to let this happen, It is happening far too much to far too many people and we need to stand up for the families that can’t do this for them self. The systems are changing and moving fairly fast at the moment with all the new reforms around SEN and the social care modal, its parents & carer’s that need to stand up and voice their concerns because without us how do they know they are getting it wrong. PLEASE FOLLOW ME  and help me to help other parent/carer’s on their journeys  thank you for taking time to read  the full story www.facebook.com/Voices4Parents.

Leave a comment