Too many Assessments for what !!!! all the crap that is thrown at you

So had quite a stressful few weeks recently with assessments (core assessment) been the worst its  a new one !   lots have happened this year, so let me explain , last year we took on a personal budget Archie’s hours per week were added up over a full year and then we had that to help us plan,  support planning began for him, it had to follow the every ECM policy.

Every Child Matters – Stay Safe, Be Healthy, Make a Positive Contribution, Enjoy and Achieve and Achieve Economic Well Being) we were told to be creative with it, so  didn’t always after be spent on a carer/Agency but items that would give him better outcomes in the long run. This was a real struggle because we didn’t really no what would help as this was all new to us anyway. We went to panel with the support plan when we believed it was ready,and for the first time ever in my authority parents got to meet the people who said YES or NO, 5 families were involved in the pilot at the same time with an age range of 4-19 years.  Archie’s plan was approved apart from 6 over nights that we wanted to incorporate into the package he was already receiving because from working with trained facilitates it seemed sleep was our biggest issues.  NOW THATS 6 nights a year not a week, they said I couldn’t use the budget we were already receiving and in corporate the 6 bloody nights. I only wanted to have a PA carer just like you can with direct payments, so the panel said it needed to say in the core assessment there was a need, so could the S.worker go away to put this is in it, a year on and she is still saying no WHY I just don’t understand so I have now left it in the hands of my councillor.

Just when I thought things may get some where I go into his school today to talk about his IEP (individual educational plan) and find out my son has been bitten, not just once but a few times. When i was there i didn’t go in and see him because I didn’t think it would be bad and didn’t want him to get confused, it was the end of school and he was going home on transport because he was off to grandma’s for tea so didn’t feel the need to see him and wasn’t asked anyway. I bloody know why I wasn’t asked now because they no the shit would have hit the fan with the state of it , he wasn’t just bitten he was flaming ATTACKED I am fuming and really up set     TO BE CONTINUED ……………………..

4 thoughts on “Too many Assessments for what !!!! all the crap that is thrown at you

  1. I hope your councillor gets this sorted, it is wrong that you and other parents of disabled children have to fight for everything, Every time a new political party comes to power or is fighting an election campaign they all express how they are going to help the vulnerable members of our society, ie disabled, elderly etc., but nothing seems to change. As for the school that is disgraceful a full enquiry is needed into what happened.

  2. I can tell how angry & distressed you are by this & it makes me so mad. Been there myself & it all seems to be getting worse with the cuts. The elderly, at least, get press coverage but it’s really hard to get disability issues in the media. Do let us know what happens re the attack on your son. Unforgiveable that someone let this happen. I hope he’s ok…x

  3. Pingback: Too many assessments for what !!!! Part 3 LOL « half a decade old

  4. I am shocked that you and your son have had to go through this! It is disgraceful that this is allowed to happen and I hope that you manage to get at least some explanation of how this has been allowed to happen. Thinking of you and Archie.

Leave a comment